• Home
  • Organization
  • Program
  • Workshops
  • Open Grid Forum (OGF29)
  • Venue and Registration
  • Student Travel Grants
  • Author Instructions
  • Sponsorship Opportunities
  • Call for Papers
    (pdf) (txt)
  • Call for Participation
    (pdf) (txt)
  • Call for Wild and Crazy Ideas
  • Call for Industry and Organizations
  • HPDC 2009
  • HPDC 2011
  • Previous HPDCs

  • HPDC 2010 Call For Papers

    19th ACM International Symposium on High Performance Distributed Computing

    Chicago, Illinois, USA June 20-25, 2010

    The International Symposium on High Performance Distributed Computing (HPDC) is the premier venue for presenting the latest research on the design, implementation, evaluation, and use of parallel and distributed systems for high performance and high end computing.   The 19th installment of HPDC will take place in the heart of the Chicago, Illinois, the third largest city in the United States and a major technological and cultural capital.  The conference will be held on June 23-25 (Wednesday through Friday) with affiliated workshops occurring on June 21-22 (Monday and Tuesday). A co-located Open Grid Forum meeting (OGF29) will occur on June 20-22 (Sunday through Tuesday).

    Submissions are welcomed on all forms of high performance distributed computing, including grids, clouds, clusters, service-oriented computing, utility computing, peer-to-peer systems, and global computing ensembles. New scholarly research showing empirical and reproducible results in architectures, systems, and networks is strongly encouraged, as are experience reports of applications and deployments that can provide insights for future high performance distributed computing research.

    All papers will be rigorously reviewed by a distinguished program committee, with a strong focus on the combination of rigorous scientific results and likely high impact within high performance distributed computing.  Research papers must clearly demonstrate research contributions and novelty while experience reports must clearly describe lessons learned and demonstrate impact. Topics of interest include (but are not limited to) the following, in the context of high performance distributed computing and high end computing:

    Both full papers and short papers (for poster presentation and/or demonstrations) may be submitted.   



    Paper abstract submissions

    January 15, 2010 January 29, 2010

    Paper submissions

    January 22, 2010 January 29, 2010

    Author notification

    March 30, 2010

    Final manuscripts

    April 23, 2010



    Authors are invited to submit full papers of at most 12 pages or short papers of at most 4 pages.  The page limits include all figures and references.  Papers should be formatted in the ACM proceedings style (e.g., http://www.acm.org/sigs/publications/proceedings-templates).   Reviewing is single-blind.  Papers must be self-contained and provide the technical substance required for the program committee to evaluate the paper's contribution, including how it differs from prior work. All papers will be reviewed and judged on correctness, originality, technical strength, significance, quality of presentation, and interest and relevance to the conference. Submitted papers must be original work that has not appeared in and is not under consideration for another conference or a journal.  



    Accepted full and short papers will appear in the conference proceedings.


    A separate call for workshops is available. The deadline for workshop proposals is November 2, 2009.


    Kate Keahey, Argonne National Labs
    Salim Hariri, University of Arizona


    Salim Hariri, Univ. of Arizona (Chair)
    Andrew A. Chien, Intel / UCSD
    Henri Bal, Vrije University
    Franck Cappello, INRIA
    Jack Dongarra, Univ. of Tennessee
    Ian Foster, ANL& Univ. of Chicago
    Andrew Grimshaw, Univ. of Virginia
    Carl Kesselman, USC/ISI
    Dieter Kranzlmueller, Ludwig-Maximilians-Univ. Muenchen
    Miron Livny, Univ. of Wisconsin
    Manish Parashar, Rutgers University
    Karsten Schwan, Georgia Tech
    David Walker, Univ. of Cardiff
    Rich Wolski, UCSB


    Peter Dinda, Northwestern University


    Kento Aida, NII and Tokyo Institute of Technology
    Ron Brightwell, Sandia National Labs
    Fabián Bustamante, Northwestern University
    Henri Bal, Vrije Universiteit
    Frank Cappello, INRIA
    Claris Castillo, IBM Research
    Henri Casanova, University of Hawaii
    Abhishek Chandra, University of Minnesota
    Chris Colohan, Google
    Brian Cooper, Yahoo Research
    Wu-chun Feng, Virginia Tech
    Renato Ferreira, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais
    José Fortes, University of Florida
    Ian Foster, University of Chicago / Argonne
    Geoffrey Fox, Indiana University
    Michael Gerndt, TU-Munich
    Andrew Grimshaw, University of Virginia
    Thilo Kielmann, Vrije Universiteit
    Zhiling Lan, IIT
    John Lange, Northwestern University
    Arthur Maccabe, Oak Ridge National Labs
    Satoshi Matsuoka, Toyota Institute of Technology
    Jose Moreira, IBM Research
    Klara Nahrstedt, UIUC
    Dushyanth Narayanan, Microsoft Research
    Manish Parashar, Rutgers University
    Ioan Raicu, Northwestern University
    Morris Riedel, Juelich Supercomputing Centre
    Matei Ripeanu, UBC
    Joel Saltz, Emory University
    Karsten Schwan, Georgia Tech
    Thomas Stricker, Google
    Jaspal Subhlok, University of Houston
    Martin Swany, University of Delaware
    Michela Taufer, University of Delaware
    Valerie Taylor, TAMU
    Douglas Thain, University of Notre Dame
    Jon Weissman, University of Minnesota
    Rich Wolski, UCSB and Eucalyptus Systems
    Dongyan Xu, Purdue University
    Ken Yocum, UCSD


    Douglas Thain, University of Notre Dame


    Martin Swany, U. Delaware
    Morris Riedel, Jülich Supercomputing Centre
    Renato Ferreira, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais
    Kento Aida, NII and Tokyo Institute of Technology


    Zhiling Lan, IIT


    John Lange, Northwestern University
    Ioan Raicu, Northwestern University