HPDC 2010 Call For Papers

19th ACM International Symposium on High Performance Distributed Computing

Chicago, Illinois, USA June 20-25, 2010

The International Symposium on High Performance Distributed Computing (HPDC) is the premier venue for presenting the latest research on the design, implementation, evaluation, and use of parallel and distributed systems for high performance and high end computing.   The 19th installment of HPDC will take place in the heart of the Chicago, Illinois, the third largest city in the United States and a major technological and cultural capital.  The conference will be held on June 23-25 (Wednesday through Friday) with affiliated workshops occurring on June 21-22 (Monday and Tuesday). A co-located Open Grid Forum meeting (OGF29) will occur on June 20-22 (Sunday through Tuesday).

Submissions are welcomed on all forms of high performance distributed computing, including grids, clouds, clusters, service-oriented computing, utility computing, peer-to-peer systems, and global computing ensembles. New scholarly research showing empirical and reproducible results in architectures, systems, and networks is strongly encouraged, as are experience reports of applications and deployments that can provide insights for future high performance distributed computing research.

All papers will be rigorously reviewed by a distinguished program committee, with a strong focus on the combination of rigorous scientific results and likely high impact within high performance distributed computing.  Research papers must clearly demonstrate research contributions and novelty while experience reports must clearly describe lessons learned and demonstrate impact. Topics of interest include (but are not limited to) the following, in the context of high performance distributed computing and high end computing:

Both full papers and short papers (for poster presentation and/or demonstrations) may be submitted.   



Paper abstract submissions

January 15, 2010 January 29, 2010

Paper submissions

January 22, 2010 January 29, 2010

Author notification

March 30, 2010

Final manuscripts

April 23, 2010



Authors are invited to submit full papers of at most 12 pages or short papers of at most 4 pages.  The page limits include all figures and references.  Papers should be formatted in the ACM proceedings style (e.g., http://www.acm.org/sigs/publications/proceedings-templates).   Reviewing is single-blind.  Papers must be self-contained and provide the technical substance required for the program committee to evaluate the paper's contribution, including how it differs from prior work. All papers will be reviewed and judged on correctness, originality, technical strength, significance, quality of presentation, and interest and relevance to the conference. Submitted papers must be original work that has not appeared in and is not under consideration for another conference or a journal.  



Accepted full and short papers will appear in the conference proceedings.


A separate call for workshops is available. The deadline for workshop proposals is November 2, 2009.


Kate Keahey, Argonne National Labs
Salim Hariri, University of Arizona


Salim Hariri, Univ. of Arizona (Chair)
Andrew A. Chien, Intel / UCSD
Henri Bal, Vrije University
Franck Cappello, INRIA
Jack Dongarra, Univ. of Tennessee
Ian Foster, ANL& Univ. of Chicago
Andrew Grimshaw, Univ. of Virginia
Carl Kesselman, USC/ISI
Dieter Kranzlmueller, Ludwig-Maximilians-Univ. Muenchen
Miron Livny, Univ. of Wisconsin
Manish Parashar, Rutgers University
Karsten Schwan, Georgia Tech
David Walker, Univ. of Cardiff
Rich Wolski, UCSB


Peter Dinda, Northwestern University


Kento Aida, NII and Tokyo Institute of Technology
Ron Brightwell, Sandia National Labs
Fabián Bustamante, Northwestern University
Henri Bal, Vrije Universiteit
Frank Cappello, INRIA
Claris Castillo, IBM Research
Henri Casanova, University of Hawaii
Abhishek Chandra, University of Minnesota
Chris Colohan, Google
Brian Cooper, Yahoo Research
Wu-chun Feng, Virginia Tech
Renato Ferreira, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais
José Fortes, University of Florida
Ian Foster, University of Chicago / Argonne
Geoffrey Fox, Indiana University
Michael Gerndt, TU-Munich
Andrew Grimshaw, University of Virginia
Thilo Kielmann, Vrije Universiteit
Zhiling Lan, IIT
John Lange, Northwestern University
Arthur Maccabe, Oak Ridge National Labs
Satoshi Matsuoka, Toyota Institute of Technology
Jose Moreira, IBM Research
Klara Nahrstedt, UIUC
Dushyanth Narayanan, Microsoft Research
Manish Parashar, Rutgers University
Ioan Raicu, Northwestern University
Morris Riedel, Juelich Supercomputing Centre
Matei Ripeanu, UBC
Joel Saltz, Emory University
Karsten Schwan, Georgia Tech
Thomas Stricker, Google
Jaspal Subhlok, University of Houston
Martin Swany, University of Delaware
Michela Taufer, University of Delaware
Valerie Taylor, TAMU
Douglas Thain, University of Notre Dame
Jon Weissman, University of Minnesota
Rich Wolski, UCSB and Eucalyptus Systems
Dongyan Xu, Purdue University
Ken Yocum, UCSD


Douglas Thain, University of Notre Dame


Martin Swany, U. Delaware
Morris Riedel, Jülich Supercomputing Centre
Renato Ferreira, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais
Kento Aida, NII and Tokyo Institute of Technology


Zhiling Lan, IIT


John Lange, Northwestern University
Ioan Raicu, Northwestern University